SusieDDesigns' Blog

Sewing, crafting, inspiration…

Sewing World Magazine Feature

Sewing World Sept 2012 Issue

Sewing World Magazine – Sept 2012 Issue

Image kindly supplied by Sewing World magazine

I am so excited, that’s my handmade bag ‘Elegance Tote‘ on the front cover of this month’s issue of Sewing World magazine!

Elegance Tote

Elegance Tote

A while back I applied to Sewing World magazine (UK) to become one of their sewing pattern designers. I received a very warm welcome from Julie, the editor, and have spent the last few months preparing for my first project to be featured in the mag. Although I was initially nervous about my work going into a magazine, Julie is such a lovely, helpful person and gave me all the encouragement and useful information that I needed to produce the work to the magazine’s format and standards.

The sewing pattern I created to make the Elegance Tote is featured over a 3 page spread and there’s a lovely preview image of it on the contents page. I hope I can be forgiven for shouting from the roof tops about this, I am so bowled over to have achieved the status of ‘sewing magazine contributor’. My next sewing project will be featured soon in a future issue of Sewing World, watch this space!

Special thanks also to Pumpkinberry Supplies on Etsy, for their wonderful range of fabrics, I purchased the fabric for the featured bag from them, isn’t it lovely. It’s from Kate Spain’s beautiful Central Park range.

I’m also very pleased to have one of my handmade bags featured in the ‘Handmade for you’ section of the same issue, my Spring/Summer Tote. I made this bag using gorgeous pastel shade fabrics from the Nicey Jane collection by Heather Bailey. A big thank you to Fiona (from The Sewing Directory & Sewing World columnist) for including one of my bags in her feature.

Spring Summer Tote

Spring / Summer Tote

If you’ve never bought Sewing World before, I would definitely recommend you do. It is such a good quality sewing magazine, always full of inspiring information and great projects to try out. The thing I like about the projects is that there is something for everyone – from beginners through to the experienced sewer who wants a bit more of a challenge. Check out Sewing World magazine on Facebook

Get the PDF downloadable sewing pattern for the Elegance Tote Bag from my Etsy shop.

6 comments on “Sewing World Magazine Feature

  1. isabelsneedleworks
    August 17, 2012

    Huge Congrats Susie, That is excellent news and you go ahead and shout from the roof tops ! lol I’m sure any of us would do the same. :) Way to go!!!!

    • susieddesigns
      August 17, 2012

      thank you so much, such a brilliant opportunity I’ve been given. Can’t wait to show it to my mum when she visits tomorrow.

  2. esthermarie1985
    August 18, 2012

    Well done Susie! Bag looks great on the cover! :)

  3. pillowsalamode
    September 19, 2012

    That is SO exciting! What an accomplishment! And I can see why those chose it . . . that bag is just lovely! Keep up the great work! :)

    • susieddesigns
      September 25, 2012

      Hello, thanks so very much. I’ve been on cloud nine for a while about this. I have another four sewing projects lined up with Sewing World, the next one is going to be in the January issue (out in Dec). Can’t wait, so exciting! Thank you for the support and lovely comments.

Leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

