SusieDDesigns' Blog

Sewing, crafting, inspiration…

Customer News – Fabulous Handmade Handbag

I received a lovely email from Sarah (Hunting For Ladybugs on Etsy), who has followed my Amelia Pleated Handbag sewing pattern to make the most delightful handbag. I’m very pleased to be able to share it here with you, by kind permission from Sarah.

I think the use of denim for the top bands and handle looks amazing, next to the gorgeous main body fabric. Bright, vibrant fabrics are a top favourite of mine. What a quality piece of work! As you can tell, I just love it!

”Just  thought I’d send you a photo of your Amelia pleated bag pattern that I finally got around to making this morning. I used denim for around the bands and I didn’t have any of the strap hardware so I just left it out.  I’m pleased with how I turned out. Thanks again.” Sarah

Beautiful Handbag Handmade by Sarah, of Hunting for Ladybugs on Etsy

Handmade by Sarah, of Hunting for Ladybugs on Etsy. Made using the Amelia Pleated Handbag by SusieDDesigns

11 comments on “Customer News – Fabulous Handmade Handbag

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode
    February 6, 2013

    Wow! That’s so colorful and springy! I LOVE it! :)

    • susieddesigns
      February 6, 2013

      Isn’t it just, it’s so nice to see what someone has made from one of my patterns.

  2. prujoy
    February 6, 2013

    Inspires me to get going with your Heather Hobo bag pattern too!

    • susieddesigns
      February 11, 2013

      That’s great, you must let me know how you get on. Did you get your new sewing machine? Mine just died on me, so back to the trusty old one until ‘new’ one gets fixed!!

  3. Sarah
    February 7, 2013

    Awww – thanks Susie. I’ve made a few more for local market stall coming up in March. The pattern has come up really well yet again. I’ve modified it so that I don’t pleat the lining (mainly to save on fabric and fiddle) and it doesn’t seem to make much difference to the overall look. Thanks again for your thinking behind a great pattern! :) Sarah

    • susieddesigns
      February 11, 2013

      You’re very welcome, pleased you’re getting on so well with it and good luck for the markets. That’s a great idea to modify the lining, I’m actually going to add an option to the pattern to allow for that as not everyone will want to pleat the inside too. Good to get the feedback on it.

  4. mtetar
    February 7, 2013

    Beautiful Print for a bag. Mtetar

    • susieddesigns
      February 11, 2013

      It’s a lovely choice of fabric, isn’t it? I love Sarah’s choice of fabric too, just the kind of beautiful vibrant fabric that inspires me.

      • mtetar
        February 12, 2013

        I agree beautiful prints makes me want to start a project. Mtetar

  5. Anny
    February 11, 2013

    Beautiful Bag! I just ordered the pattern and can’t wait to make it!

    • susieddesigns
      February 11, 2013

      Hi, I’m so pleased you were inspired and hope you enjoy making this bag too. Would love to hear how you get on.

Leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

