SusieDDesigns' Blog

Sewing, crafting, inspiration…

Check out this month’s Sewing World Magazine – March 2014 issue

I was so excited when this month’s issue of Sewing World magazine arrived. As well as my regular bag-making project, I had the honour of having my very first techniques article make it’s debut appearance this month! This three page feature is the first of six articles for my new ‘Brilliant Bags’ bag-making techniques series. I’ve been contributing projects to Sewing World for about 18 months now (has it really been that long?), which still fills me with pride and delight, but over the past few months I’ve also been working on this brand new series. Such a fantastic new challenge! I feel that I’ve managed to take another wee step up the ladder in my effort to offer inspiration to others. I’ve started off the new series with Choosing Fabrics, with an in-depth look at the variety of fabrics you can use to make fab bags. The next five installments get down to the essential elements of bag-making, including detailed step-by-step instructions on the different construction methods.

Brilliant Bag Making Techniques Series by Susan Dunlop for Sewing World Magazine

This month’s bag project is the Daisy Mae bag, aptly named after one of the fabric prints I’ve used, from the gorgeous PB&J collection by BasicGrey for Moda Fabrics. PB&J stands for Peanut Butter and Jelly, how cute is that? If you didn’t see my sneak preview last month, here it is:

Daisy Mae Bag Sewing Pattern by Susan Dunlop for Sewing World Magazine

This month in the magazine:

TECHNIQUES & FEATURES

  • Brilliant Bagmaking! Part 1
  • Fabric Trends for 2014
  • Fabric Showcase – Woodland Critters
  • We Meet…Gillian Travis
  • Personalised Fabrics
  • Pattern of the Month – Simplicity 1590
  • Finishing Touches – Bound Buttonholes
  • Eco Garment Recycling
  • Masterclass – Beading Foot

PROJECTS

  • Woof! Woof! – Cute toy dog
  • Stylish Spring Jacket- Sew Simplicity’s pattern
  • A-Tissue! – Tissue box cover
  • We are Sailing – Applique yacht bag
  • Diamond Sparkle! – Felted cushion with a twinkle
  • Natty Knit! – Contrasting knit fabric top
  • Seasons Wall Hanging – Part 5 – Making up your quilt
  • Buttonhole Leaf Roll – Carry your pencils in style
  • Daisy Mae – Pleated floral handbag

4 comments on “Check out this month’s Sewing World Magazine – March 2014 issue

  1. Anny
    February 20, 2014

    Those fabrics are fab! And so is your new design! Is Sewing World available here in the U.S.?

    • susieddesigns
      February 21, 2014

      Hi Anny, thanks so much! I know you can get the digital copies online but not sure about printed magazine stockists, although I think the magazine has a US distributor. I’ll find out for you. :-)

  2. Pillows A-La-Mode
    February 20, 2014

    Beautiful . . . always SO proud of you! :) Hugs, Katherine

    • susieddesigns
      February 21, 2014

      Hi Katherine, thank you very much! Your support always means a lot to me.
      p.s. I’m loving the revamps you’ve been doing over on your blog. So clever!

Leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

