Gifts Made from Tilda Fabrics

I just love to make things for my mum and sisters, who really appreciate handmade items. They also do a variety of lovely crafts, I feel very privileged to come from such a talented family. I usually have a list as long as my arm of things I’d like to make for them. Whenever they say “oh, I’d really like …” I file it away in my head for birthday and Christmas ideas. So this week it was little sister’s birthday on Monday and big sis on Thursday. I’d been very good this year and made their gifts a few months back, usually it’s a mad rush trying to get things made at the last minute.

Back in Nov last year, I bought the Christmas issue of Mollie Makes. It had some fantastic Scandinavian style projects in it, including lovely Tilda pixies. I could not resist and after buying some of the fabrics from Coast & Country Craftsย  (they have a great selection) I set to work making the pixies for my sisters as I knew they’d love them. We’re all big kids at heart and we like our dolls!

I really enjoyed making the dolls but ‘wow!’ they are quite fiddly what with being such narrow pieces of fabric. Turning the pieces through was tricky and stuffing them took ages. The awkward bits over though, the rest was enjoyable to make and I was quite pleased with the end results. I tweeked a few bits, like making the dresses and aprons a bit fuller and stitching the eyes rather than painting on. Oh, and I added dainty little shoes from pieces of felt. My sisters were delighted with their new dolls, yipee!! (read on, below, for how I used up all those left over scraps)

What do you think?

Tilda Pixies

Also made another pressie, from all the left over scraps. I can’t bare to throw away fabric, however small, so I came up with the idea of making a patchwork cushion cover for my mum. Mother’s day was fast approaching so thought would be great idea.

I cut all the little squares out, pieced them together and then, after hunting through my fabric stash for suitable backing material, I realised I’d have to order up a little more of the Tilda fabric, as it’s so unique and lovely that I struggled to get it to go with anything else. But even though had to spend a little extra on it, I was glad that I did as it really finished the cushion off nicely. I then covered some self-cover buttons in same fabrics to match. Mum loved it, I was so pleased. Such a thrill to give someone something you’ve made and to see genuine delight on their face.

Patchwork cushion made with Tilda fabrics

Reverse side of patchwork cushion

7 thoughts on “Gifts Made from Tilda Fabrics

Leave a comment.

