New Sewing World Magazine Project Feature

I’ve been trying to make time to blog since New Year, but been so busy! Not that I’m complaining though, it’s been a really great start to the year and I’m so excited to have another of my sewing projects featured in the latest issue of Sewing World magazine. Even more exciting, it’s on the front cover!

Sewing World magazine Feb 2013 issue.

Sweetheart Handbag featured in Sewing World magazine Feb 2013 issue.

I really enjoyed making this bag as it’s such an elegant shape and I felt the fabrics were perfect with Valentine’s being just around the corner. The colours are fresh and bright, with a romantic design – available as a fabric bundle from Eclectic Maker. It’s Aqua Red in Nearby Floral by Michael Miller Fabrics.

I added box pleats to this handbag, for shape and depth, and a useful outer pocket is great for popping a mobile phone into. I used both interfacing and interlining with this design, so that the bag keeps it’s shape and will be really durable.

If you fancy picking up a copy the magazine, it’s available in most WH Smith shops as well as other outlets or see the Traplet Publications website.

I hope you like my latest project for the magazine, watch this space for more upcoming designs. Next month’s issue will be featuring my pretty, yet practical bi-fold wallet.

11 thoughts on “New Sewing World Magazine Project Feature

  1. I have question about this bag pattern. I have had to put it down while getting the house worked on. I am on step 12 of the sewing world instruction and am struggling. I am to place the front and back outer pieces RS together. Is this the main body? I am lost when I look at the photo, as it has no tucks. Sorry to be so thick, but HELP!
    – Amelia

    • Hi Amelia,

      not at all! I can see how you were confused. The picture below step 12 is actually for step 13. So, yes, it is the main body front and back that you need to place RS together in step 12. Hope that clears that up for you. If you need any help with any other steps please do get in touch. I’m very happy to help if I can.

      thanks and hope you enjoy making the bag, would love to see it when you’re finished.

      best wishes
      Susan

Leave a comment.

