New Sewing Book in the Making…

Things have been a bit quiet around here for a wee while… why? Well, I’ve been busy going through my edited book manuscript which I received back in the post from Martingale’s, last week. I’d sent off the completed manuscript and all the finished projects quite a while back (December, so not that long ago but it’s felt like forever!) and have been patiently waiting for the editing team to go through it all with a fine tooth comb.

So, I eagerly (nervously) took the VIP (very important parcel) from the delivery man, asking “has that come from America?”, “‘Sure has!” he answered.  I was so apprehensive! The last few months have felt so long and extremely frustrating. I’d obsessively worked on my book (and making all the projects) for several months last year and when I sent it all away, just before Christmas, I felt a bit out of sorts for a while as I was suddenly not doing any work on it anymore. Luckily I’ve had so many other things to keep me busy in the process – designing and making new sewing patterns for my Etsy shop and writing for Sewing World magazine, oh and of course the kids keep me busy!!!

I sort of knew what to expect when I got the edits back as the editing team had got me to do a sample chapter for editing right at the start. But still, I wasn’t sure exactly what the outcome would be for the whole thing. I was pleasantly surprised that there weren’t too many corrections needing done, it was more a case of just reading through the whole thing and going through all of the illustrations – answering any queries the editors had or approving any changes/corrections they had made. I must say what a fantastic job they’ve done.

As yet, I have no idea what the finished book will look like. There will be loads of stuff going on in the background, photography, design layout, etc, etc, that I know nothing about so far. I’m scheduled to receive proper page proofs in the Summer, so I think that’s when I’ll get my first glimpse of how it’s all going to look. That will be really exciting and it might even sink in then, the fact that I’m going to have a book out there with my name on it! I’m really looking forward to seeing the photography of all my new project designs, that will be awesome.

My new book is scheduled for publication January 2015, so I’m hoping to be able to bring you more detailed info/images during the summer. Not long now! Watch this space!

To make up for not having any images to show you yet, thought you might like to see some of the latest new books on offer from Martingale’s.

Sweet and Simple Sewing - Quilts and Sewing Projects to Give - or Keep By Carrie Jung, Jessi Jung, Lauren Jung

Sweet and Simple Sewing – Quilts and Sewing Projects to Give – or Keep
By Carrie Jung, Jessi Jung, Lauren Jung

Sew Practical - 13 Fun-to-Sew Designs for You and Your Home

Sew Practical – 13 Fun-to-Sew Designs for You and Your Home

Uncommonly Corduroy - Quilt Patterns, Bag Patterns, and More By Stephanie Dunphy

Uncommonly Corduroy – Quilt Patterns, Bag Patterns, and More
By Stephanie Dunphy

10 thoughts on “New Sewing Book in the Making…

  1. Congraulations
    Am busy making your satchel pattern at the moment.Will hopefully send you pictures when I complete.
    Can, t wait to see even more patterns…..

Leave a comment.

