My Trusty Janome 7025 – Sewing Machine Review

The first brand new sewing machine I bought for myself was a Janome 7025. I purchased it in 2012 for about £199 (now retails at around £219, exclusive to John Lewis department store). Even though it’s described as a beginner’s sewing machine, I feel that it’s much more than that and suitable for all levels of sewers as long as you don’t need to do anything too elaborate. It does most of the jobs I need it to do, it’s sturdy and very reliable. I’d been faithfully using my mum’s old sewing machine ever since I was a teenager but I’d eventually took the plunge to buy a new machine, when the old one became more of a pain than a pleasure to sew with. This was a major purchase for me at the time. I was just starting up my sewing pattern business and didn’t have many pennies to rub together. I’ll never forget how excited I was about buying this. Even though I’ve bought a more advanced machine since, I still keep going back to my trusty Janome because it’s just so nice to sew with. It has a few minor shortfalls but definitely makes up for any of these in it’s ease of use and reliability.

Sewing Machine Janome 7025Having been used to sewing on a really old machine for so long, this was an absolute dream to use. I was a bit nervous using it at first but I needn’t have been as it was extremely easy to set up and use. I guess that’s why it’s billed as a beginner’s machine as it isn’t difficult to use at all and the manual that comes with it is easy to understand.

Issue I had with the machine:

Unfortunately, the machine broke down just 11 months after I bought it (I must admit to thinking that I’d made a big mistake purchasing it). It came with a 2 year warranty though so I called John Lewis and they collected it free of charge and gave it a good going over – they had to send it back to Janome to strip it down! Basically, the machine started making a horrible noise when sewing and was slowing down for some reason. The hand wheel also felt a little bit stiff. The foot pedal has a low and high speed setting and I changed it from low to high. This seemed to solve the problem and it worked fine but soon began slowing down again, to the point that I could hardly sew and the hand wheel was really stiff. It eventually wouldn’t turn at all, everything just seized up. This all happened over just a few days use. The problem turned out to be that the self-lubricating parts inside (at the hand wheel end) had not been lubricated enough at the time of manufacture and so this caused it all to eventually seize. So, they sorted it all out and serviced the machine and I’m happy to report that I’ve never had a problem with it since. Phew! I was so happy to get it back in full working order and I loved using it even more as it’s been so reliable.

The pros:

  • Very easy to set up and use
  • Has an automatic needle threader
  • Extremely reliable with consistent stitches
  • Tension is always consistent, very rarely need to adjust
  • Decent range of stitch widths and lengths
  • The needle position can be altered to suit
  • Reverse button for back tacking
  • Has integrated drop-feed for embroidery
  • Good range of stitch options, 24 in total, including satin stitches
  • Drop-in bobbin is easy to thread up and has clear cover so you know when it needs re-filling
  • 1-step button hole function
  • Machine supplied with a hard cover
  • It’s not too heavy so can be carried easily but just as importantly it’s not too light so feels well built and substantial
  • It copes extremely well with all kinds of fabrics, including thick layers. I make bags, sometimes with lots of layers, and it sews through it all so easily. I’ve also used it to sew denim, faux leather and suede, again it coped really well with the thickness.
  • Free-arm facility
  • Good range of seam allowance markings with good visibility

The cons:

  • It’s a little bit noisy
  • The self-lubricating parts needed attention back at the manufacturer’s

Specifications of the Janome 7025

H28 x W42 x D17cm

Weight – 7kg

What the retailer says about it:

The Janome 7025 is suitable for sewing all types of fabrics and gives you a good choice of sewing options. Its rotary action ensures a smooth bobbin feed, while the view-through cover lets you spot when you need to change the bobbin. The 1-step buttonhole function makes it easy to insert a buttonhole, while there are another 24 stitch options to select. The automatic needle threader gets you started quickly, the side cutter lets you finish the job quickly. Other features include integrated drop feed (useful for embroidering); reverse button (for strengthening a stitch); and auto thread tension (for continuous feed). The machine is also supplied with a hard cover.

Accessories include: a quilter guide and standard foot; additional feet include zipper, blind hem, buttonhole and overedge. It also includes lint brush, spool cap – large and small, spare spool pin, spool pin felt, screwdriver, spare bobbins, spare needles.

Janome 7025 Sewing Machine

 

26 thoughts on “My Trusty Janome 7025 – Sewing Machine Review

  1. Pingback: My Trusty Janome 7025 – Sewing Machine Review …

  2. Pingback: My Trusty <b>Janome</b> 7025 – <b>Sewing Machine</b> Review <b>…</b>

  3. Pingback: 2 comments on “My Trusty <b>Janome</b> 7025 – <b>Sewing Machine</b> Review”

  4. My wife is struggling with gathering. i.e. Stitching first and then being able to draw the cotton through the fabric. Can’t see that there is anything in the manual. Can anyone help?

    • Set the machine to the longest stitch length (as for basting) and slightly loosen the top thread tension. Straight stitch just inside the seam allowance, without back-stitching at start/end, leaving longish thread tails at each end. Stitch a second parallel row, about 1/8” from the first (closer to raw edge), in exactly the same way. Use a pin to mark the centre of the edge to be gathered and also mark the centre of the other piece of fabric which won’t be gathered – that will help you align things neatly a bit later. Select both bobbin threads (bottom ones) (or both top, needle threads) from one side of the fabric and gently pull on them, the stitches will begin to gather up. Keep gently pulling and using your other hand to manipulate the gathers along the full width. Make sure you don’t completely pull the threads out from the other side – you can place a pin at that side and wrap the threads around it to prevent them moving. Offer the gathered piece up to the non-gathered fabric and adjust the gathers (less or more) until both are same width. With right sides together, match up the centre pins and then continue pinning from the centre out to each side. Adjust the gathering as you go to try get the gathers as even as possible. When ready, set your machine back to a normal stitch length and normal tension (although you might prefer to baste at this stage, which will be easier to remove if need be). Stitch the correct seam allowance this time, going slowly so that you can straighten and adjust the gathers as you go to keep it all as even as possible. Also remember to backstitch at start/end if this is the final stitching and not basted. If basted first, now do the proper stitching if happy with how it looks. Pull out the basting thread. Hopefully you should now have a nice gathered edge joined onto a flat edge. It might not be perfect, but it just takes practice to get neater and neater results.

  5. Hi – what comes in the box with this machine ..I cant find this information anyhwre ..i do lots of zips and am hoping it comes with a zipper foot..the thin narrow foot with a groove on each side. Would you be so kind as to let me know if it has one ?

  6. Hi Susan,
    Just purchased this machine and trying to figure out how to use a twin needle with it….not included in instructions. Have you tried using twin needles with this machine? I have set up thread on the extra spoon pin and threaded both threads as usual. Tried sewing with both threads behind the needle bar and with only the regular thread behind the needle bar. Also, wondered how far in the twin needle should be inserted…all the way to the plastic? I adjusted it downward and got a better result but still have skipped stitches. Using a contrasing thread to check consistency. Finding the tension on the second thread such that it is pulling and stripping the thread…not good.
    Any advice is appreciated….I was thinking of taking it into JL to let them have a go and show me how it should work.
    Thanks alot
    Not Sew Good

  7. Please! What happened with the twin needle sewing? I’m trying twin on my Janome 7025 for the first time and it is not sewing at all. Please help!

    • Can you tell me how you’re threading it up? Any other info you might have that is relevant would also be helpful. Also, did you purchase from John Lewis? They are usually very helpful at demonstrating how to do things like this. Might be worth paying a visit to the store and asking them to show you how to do it. It’s hard for me to know what to advise you as I can’t see how you’ve set it up.

  8. Hello Susie, I wonder if you can tell me how the feed dogs are dropped in order to do free motion embroidery? I have looked in the manual but, if instructions are there, they elude me.

  9. hello, i bought this machine back in April from John Lewis, and only tried two projects on it so far (as I am learning so quite slow still). this second project I am doing involves a button hole! I have done several practices, but on 5 out of 6 goes now I find when it gets to the top far side of the process, it seems to just stitch over and over in the same place and does not move to the right, it then tangles into a big knot and gets stuck on the teeth. I can’t work out what is going wrong? I am only sewing through single fabric (I am making a dress for a new born using a Simplicity pattern) so I cannot quite believe how easily it is getting stuck. ;-( have you had this problem?

    • It will be to do with the arm that you pull down which sits against the button hole foot. If wrongly positioned the machine won’t sew forward again and will get stuck in the one place. I have a post on using the button hole foot on this blog.

  10. Hi Susie, I am thinking in buying this sewing machine so I can make my own roman blinds and curtains. Could you please advise me if this machine works in heavy fabrics? Thanks

    • Yes, I make lots of bags on mine which have really thick layers of fabric, interfacing, lining and padding. It’s a work horse. One tip though, keep the foot pedal on high. If you put on low the machine makes awful noise and mine eventually ground to a halt. Got fixed and never had anymore probs!

  11. Hi Susie, I have the same machine but am struggling to find out what the right walking foot is for quilting on the machine, the Jenome site talks about class a and b but i dont know what i need, do you have a walking foot? Which one should i get?

  12. hi there. just discovered your website. so useful, thank you for being so precise. I have 2 questions for you. Would be amazing if you could help.
    Can i sew leather with this machine?
    What’s the difference between this one and the 525S?
    many thanks
    jenny

    • Hi Jenny, yes you can sew leather but make sure you use a leather needle and a Teflon foot (or other non-stick foot). I also have the 525S which is basically the same machine. The 7025 is simply branded for John Lewis. 🙂

  13. Hi Suzie I have a 7025 and would like to arrange a service for it. It’s still in a warranty period. Do you know if I would have to arrange a service via John Lewis or can I send it anywhere? Thank you, Sharon

  14. Hi – So glad I found this blog! I’m wanting to buy a machine and no idea where to start! The sales guy pointed out the 525S but I don’t see much difference to this and that one? I’ll be wanting to sew mainly sequin and stretch fabrics (I know I may have to get into an overlocker…). This machine stand me in good sted to get going?

Leave a comment.

