Another top from Simplicity New Look 6356 Sewing Pattern

I’ve made another top to add to my summer wardrobe! This time I did the square neck version of Simplicity’s New Look 6356. I added a little extra ease to this one as I wanted a slightly more casual look and I also added a few extra inches to the length. I found the square neck a little trickier as it will pucker at the bottom corners if you don’t snip right up to the stitches after applying the facing. But with a little extra care and some careful pressing I managed to get it right. As with the first top I made from this pattern, I didn’t bother with the hook and eye which you’re supposed to put at the top of the zippered back. I just inserted the zip so the it went all the way up. Less fiddly I thought. I did a double-fold bottom hem (and sleeves) for this top, unlike the other one which I did a rolled hem for. I was a lot happier with the set in sleeves this time! I used lovely cotton fabric in Cosmopolitan Lime from the Urban Mod collection by AGF Studio – Art Gallery Fabrics. Hurry up summer! I want to wear this and it’s just too cold out there still!

Simplicity New Look Pattern 6356 View D (1)

Simplicity New Look Pattern 6356 View D (back view)

Simplicity New Look Pattern 6356 View D - square neck

Simplicity New Look Pattern 6356 View D - set in sleeve

3 thoughts on “Another top from Simplicity New Look 6356 Sewing Pattern

  1. Pingback: The last hoorah: Urban Mod

Leave a comment.

