All That Jazz! A Ukulele Case from Robert Kaufman’s New Fabrics

I was so excited to receive some advance samples of the new All That Jazz fabrics by Fabrice De Villeneuve for Robert Kaufman Fabrics! These are the most amazing designs and the minute I saw them I knew I had to design and make some musical instrument cases with them.Here’s a few of my favourites from the new collection…

All That Jazz from Robert Kaufman Fabrics

All That Jazz from Robert Kaufman Fabrics …and this is my first ukulele soft-cover case… (get the sewing pattern here and here)

Ukulele Soft Cover Case Handmade by Susan Dunlop (1)Ukulele Soft Cover Case Handmade by Susan Dunlop (2)Ukulele Soft Cover Case Handmade by Susan Dunlop (3)

I enjoyed making this so much and will be making another I think from the red fabric. I’ve added enough padding to protect the instrument, including a carry handle and a useful pocket on the front of the case. I will be releasing this as a sewing pattern very soon, watch this space! I’ll also be working on some more instrument cases/covers over the coming months. What other instruments would you like to see a sewing pattern for?

Update: get the pattern now from my Etsy shop here or in my UK shop here.

19 thoughts on “All That Jazz! A Ukulele Case from Robert Kaufman’s New Fabrics

  1. Hi there. I wonder if you can help me – I am desperately searching for somewhere in the UK that sells the Robert Kaufmann red “all that Jazz” fabric in the centre of your pic above. Your page popped up and I wondered if you were able to buy this particular one? Thanks in advance, Mary.

  2. Hallo Susie, I need a yard of the crimson All That Jazz fabric, that’s in the middle of your photo. I’ve only found it on Etsy and has to be shipped – is there a stockist UK? In the middle of an optimistic-work-it-out-as-you-go-along bag for three sizes of recorder and now got no fabric left.
    Your ukulele case is wonderful!! I have one but I need to make a mandolin cover similarly so would love instructions eventually.

  3. Hi Susie.
    Yes I was wondering if you had managed to sort out the sewing pattern for the ukulele case as well.
    Looks good and I would like to have a go!
    cheers

  4. Hello! I just stumbled upon this case in your Craftsy shop. I’m assuming this is for a soprano size uke. I’m wondering how easy it would be to modify it for a concert size (they are a wee bit bigger- Soprano ukes are 20 inches and concerts are 23 inches. They are also wider)

    Thanks!

Leave a comment.

