Local Auction Find: Vintage Singer Sewing Machine

I spotted a lovely old Singer® sewing machine, at a local auction house last week. I was so pleased to find it hadn’t been converted to electric, as I’d been looking for one like this for a while now. I had to leave the auction early, before the lot came up, so I left a hopeful bid of £30. I was delighted to win it for £25! I know there’s a lot of them around and they don’t go for much but I’d been having a hard time trying to get my hands on one. I think they’re so popular now, everyone’s snapping them up!

1927 Vintage Singer Sewing Machine with original wooden cover.

Vintage Singer Sewing Machine Instructions and Accessories

It’s in fantastic condition, with its gorgeous wooden cover, original instruction booklet and metal bobbins. There’s even a pack of old, unused needles. The kids were fascinated by it and I’ve promised to teach them on it. It works beautifully and I’ve checked up on the Singer® website to find out it’s a 1927 model (although the instruction booklet has 1928 on it?) If you’ve got one that you’d like to check it’s age, go to http://www.singerco.com/support/machine-serial-numbers and click on the link relevant to yours – no letter pre-fix, single letter pre-fix or double letter pre-fix. The serial number of mine is located on the front right-hand corner:

1927 Singer Sewing Machine

Did you know that SINGER® sewing machines were first manufactured in 1851. The manufacture dating on their web site is reproduced from the original company register number log books. They’ve not located the log books for 1851 to 1870 as yet, so the serial numbers for those years aren’t available.

Serial numbers on SINGER® sewing machines manufactured prior to 1900 are numbers only. After 1900, the machine serial numbers have a single or two-letter prefix.

I plan to use mine for teaching the kids on and for putting on display in my new sewing studio (more on that in the very near future). Do you have a Singer®? How old is yours and do you use it or display it?

Vintage Singer Sewing Machine Presser Foot

11 thoughts on “Local Auction Find: Vintage Singer Sewing Machine

  1. You take me back. Both my Grandmothers had Singer treadle machines and I learnt to sew on one. I still remember the pleasure I felt when I made my first article…..a pillow case and I’ve never looked back after all these decades. They truly are lovely machines. They should be produced again for countries where power is hard to come by. They would be such a wonderful asset there.

  2. My mom and grandma and others in the family all used Singer and it is the only one I know best when it comes to sewing. I learned using both Mom’s and Grandma’s and have received two one as a Mother’s Day and the other as a Birthday’s Gifts. Enjoy using it, Mtetar

  3. This takes me back 🙂 My great-aunt had one of these and I remember her teaching me to thread it and letting me sew scraps of fabric on it, back in the 60s. Her’s has a wooden case, too and weighted an absolute ton!

    • Hi Tomomi, thanks so much. Yes, I was pleased to find there was no rust – well, apart from the screw that holds the metal base to the wooden base, think I’ll put a little oil on it to stop any rust spreading to the enameled metal, what do you think?

  4. I love them. I inherited a 66k which is 95 years old. I have briefly used it after giving it a well earned clean up and a new rubber for the bobbin winder.

  5. I have just ‘discovered’ your lovely blog and reading through the back posts I came across this wonderful photograph. My mother (who will be 90 in August) still has this identical machine – she used to make all our clothes on it and taught me to sew with it too. Sadly she is now unable to do any sewing but the photo brings back so many happy memories.

Leave a comment.

