White Tree Fabrics – Jersey Fabrics and Vogue V8951 – Part 1

I was delighted to receive some beautiful jersey fabrics, from White Tree Fabrics, for my next dressmaking projects. I received a 2-way stretch, blue-grey warm jersey and a one-way stretch, purple Ponti Roma jersey fabric.

I was originally going to make two tops from the Vogue sewing pattern V8951, which I also got from White Tree Fabrics. However, I decided on making just one of them for now as I was also eager to make a different top from another pattern I already had. So I’ll do a separate post on that one and start with the lovely Ponti Roma fabric which I used to make View C from the Vogue pattern.

SAMSUNG CSC

View C from Vogue V8951 using Ponti Roma jersey fabric. I altered the back piece to make it the same length all round as the pattern has a very long back which I wasn’t keen on.

SAMSUNG CSC

The collar construction looks difficult but the instructions are quite clear. I even managed to add some decorative stretch stitching to it!

SAMSUNG CSC

The front view: I’d probably make the next size up next time as I feel it looks a little bit neat. Still lovely to wear though.

SAMSUNG CSC

The back view: I was happy with the fit around the back, so maybe I just needed to adjust the front bust area. Will try that next time. That’s what having four kids does to you, I suppose!

Some tips on sewing with jersey fabrics: use a ball point or jersey needle in your sewing machine. Use a polyester (all-purpose) sewing thread, which has a little stretch and won’t break easily like cotton thread would. Remember to use a stretch-stitch and use an over-locking stitch to finish all the raw edges. I used my over-locker for the raw edges and main seams and I used my sewing machine for hemming. Don’t stretch the fabric as you sew it, unless your pattern specifically tells you to do so. Just gently guide it and let the feed dogs move it through. If you’ve never sewn with jersey before, Ponti Roma is a good choice to start with as it is quite a tight knit without too much stretch.

If you want to have a go at making this top and trying out Ponti Roma fabric, visit White Tree Fabrics and save some money by using this exclusive discount code which White Tree have very kindly offered my readers: SUSIED

2 thoughts on “White Tree Fabrics – Jersey Fabrics and Vogue V8951 – Part 1

Leave a comment.

