I have a Craft Book Publishing Deal!

I’m so excited to let you into a little secret I’ve been keeping under wraps. As you’ll have seen from the title of this post, I have recently signed on the dotted line to write my first craft book with American publishers Martingale & Co. (That Patchwork Place).

martingale and co publishers logo

I was extremely lucky to have received offers from two different publishers (gosh, that was just the most amazing thing!) So after much decision making, I chose Martingale. Phew! It’s been a mad year so far. I sent out the proposals way back at the beginning of the year, not realising just how long it takes to go through the acceptance process. Now, I can finally get on with the sewing and the writing of all the projects and have just sent off my first chapter for editing.

My book is still along way off from hitting the shops, it takes a year or so to go through all the writing, editing, designing and publishing stages. So we’re looking at end 2014 / beginning 2015 – seems a long way off but I’m sure it’ll come around quick enough. Over the next few months I’ll keep you up to date with how the writing and planning is going, giving you a little insight into the craft book publishing process. I can’t wait to start talking about the book itself and what it will contain, but I’m afraid I have to keep this under wraps for now. So while I can’t show any images about my book at the moment, I thought you might like to see some of Martingale’s other books.

Sew The Perfect GiftSew the Perfect Gift: 24 Handmade Projects from Top Designers (That Patchwork Place)

51qZpZngMeL._Everyday Handmade: 22 Practical Projects for the Modern Sewist (That Patchwork Place)

Stitched for FunStitched for Fun: 35 Easy and Adorable Embroidery Projects

Make it Sew ModernMake it Sew Modern: Gather, Twist, Pleat, Texture

27 thoughts on “I have a Craft Book Publishing Deal!

    1. Thank you so much, I’m so excited as I thought I was kidding myself and now it’s happening! I’ll be doing posts on my experiences with the proposal process very soon.

      1. Can’t wait to read it – I’m more than interested to know how this all came about! I’ll keep my newsfeed refreshed 🙂

    1. Hi Michelle, thank you very much for your lovely comment! I’m bowled over by all the well wishes and so privileged to be a part of such a supportive community. You are all part of the ‘big picture’ which made this happen. (oh dear, little tear in the eye!)

      1. Aww! You were the first person to make me feel welcome in this little blogging community so I have a special place in my heart for you 🙂 All the well wishes in the world!

  1. Hi Susan – like everyone else, I think that’s wonderful – what an amazing achievement! I too can’t wait to follow your publishing process and see the final product – your craft book. Wow! Congratulations. Theresa

Comments are closed.