Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing – Book Review

I have been eyeing up this fabulous book, aptly named Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing, ever since it was published and decided at the last minute, to put it on my Christmas/birthday wishlist – I’m one of those annoying people who has a birthday a few days after Christmas. Lucky girl that I am, one of Santa’s little helpers (aka Mum) gifted it to me! Well, this book is now one of the most favourite sewing books.

Book Review - Gertie's New Book for Better Sewing

I’m mainly a bag and accessory making kind of girl but I also have a keen interest in clothes making too. I’ve only ever dabbled in making the odd kid’s outfit before though, so maybe a new challenge? The thing I found most appealing about this book is that it has the most gorgeous dress designs from the 40’s and ’50’s and it has an extensive section of techniques to learn. So, if nothing else, I’m sure to learn a whole stack of new (or rather vintage) techniques.

Gertie's New Book for Better Sewing by Gretchen Hirsch

It won’t matter if you’re a beginner (like I am, of clothes making) or you’re an advanced sewist, I think everyone is going to enjoy this and learn a ton of sewing stuff! This is the main reason I wanted the book – just to have a good read and learn more stuff about sewing. As I get further and further into reading it, though, I am smitten. When I get through all the amazing techniques to learn, I’m going to give the actual patterns a go. Before I began reading this book, I knew I had an interest in it but that’s as far as I’d probably get. Well, Gertie has the ability to make you feel like you can actually achieve all her fabulous creations with confidence. Her infectious words carry you along and before you know it, you’ll be positively itching to get started on her patterns.

Well, if I do pluck up the courage to have a go at these lovely patterns I’ll be sure to log my progress here. By the way, Gertie has a really good blog too (which I believe is how she started her sewing venture) it’s called Gertie’s New Blog for Better Sewing.

4 thoughts on “Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing – Book Review

  1. Hello I am fingers crossed that you can help me. I found your blog as a new sewer who had inherited my mothers pride her frister and rossmann qe 404. My mum recently died and therapy for me is trying to use her sewing machine. You did a review so please can you possible help me with what is no doubt a simple problem.

    I have been trying out some stitches and the diamond zig zag stitch is lovely but the pattern is coming out on the reverse of the fabric. I am clearly doing something wrong maybe a button I gave pressed. I read the instructions book but it’s not got any advice on this. Have you the knowledge ? Many thanks. Joanne

    1. Thanks for getting in touch and for letting me know you’d got it sorted and sewing beautifully now. (spool in back to front, as different to some other machines – mentioning the problem incase anyone else has same issue)
      Happy Sewing Joanne
      Susie
      xx

Comments are closed.